version 17.1

Global announcements
obarun
Advanced
Posts: 42
Joined: 13 Oct 2015, 07:45

Re: version 17.1

Postby obarun » 27 Oct 2015, 16:56

have you trying to perform your own act for your mouse?

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: version 17.1

Postby Scooby » 27 Oct 2015, 21:42

obarun wrote:have you trying to perform your own act for your mouse?


Solved it just now.

There was a race condition see
https://github.com/jcnelson/vdev/issues/71

solution was simple, finding the fiend not so

remove daemonlet=true from input.act

to become

Code: Select all

[vdev-action]
event=any
OS_SUBSYSTEM=input
helper=input.sh

obarun
Advanced
Posts: 42
Joined: 13 Oct 2015, 07:45

Re: version 17.1

Postby obarun » 28 Oct 2015, 05:29

not for me, i have so much trouble :(

Edit : pkgbuild was updated again lol. i have made a mail to jcnelson with the complete log. we will see

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: version 17.1

Postby Scooby » 28 Oct 2015, 19:52

obarun wrote:not for me, i have so much trouble :(

Edit : pkgbuild was updated again lol. i have made a mail to jcnelson with the complete log. we will see


OK, Jude is real busy at the moment and may not be able to answer you right away.

Do you get keyboard and mouse now?

obarun
Advanced
Posts: 42
Joined: 13 Oct 2015, 07:45

Re: version 17.1

Postby obarun » 29 Oct 2015, 02:27

no, i need to start twice vdevd in pid 1 for have /dev/input/by-id/ correctly configured. but with or without this directory with the good link, i don't have mouse or keyboard under X.
Do you use eventfs?

what do you have in your hwdb.sb, please?

Edit : ok i have mouse and keyboard working! :). need to add 60-evdev.hwdb in the /usr/lib/vdev/hwdb/hwdb.squashfs (builded with the tools provide by jcnelson gen_database.sh).
So i have already trouble for have /dev/input/by-id or /dev/input/by-path. i need to start twice vdevd!!!????.
the ram used is so huge. i think is a trouble to find the /dev/metadata/hwdb mounting point. i don't know exactly.
i have already error on the log file for initramfs and pid 1.

well in progress and work half

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: version 17.1

Postby Scooby » 29 Oct 2015, 18:34

obarun wrote:Do you use eventfs?

No

obarun wrote:what do you have in your hwdb.sb, please?

It's the files from hwdb.squashfs unpacked and content put in path /dev/metadata/hwdb
and resquashed to fit alphaos.
Since alphaos is using AUFS there is no need to loop mount the squash archive.
I let AUFS load it at startup


obarun wrote:Edit : ok i have mouse and keyboard working! :). need to add 60-evdev.hwdb in the /usr/lib/vdev/hwdb/hwdb.squashfs (builded with the tools provide by jcnelson gen_database.sh).

I am not sure I fully understand? You did not use hwdb.squashfs at all before?

or

You udated hwdb.squashfs - hardware database?


obarun wrote:So i have already trouble for have /dev/input/by-id or /dev/input/by-path. i need to start twice vdevd!!!????.

You cannot start it later in boot?


obarun wrote:the ram used is so huge. i think is a trouble to find the /dev/metadata/hwdb mounting point. i don't know exactly.

compared to udev or eudev, how much bigger RAM usage?

obarun wrote:well in progress and work half


Good Job - If it was easy any F*** could do it!

obarun
Advanced
Posts: 42
Joined: 13 Oct 2015, 07:45

Re: version 17.1

Postby obarun » 30 Oct 2015, 03:11

You udated hwdb.squashfs - hardware database?


i have updated hwdb.squashfs for insert evdev

You cannot start it later in boot?


once ramfs is mounted on rootfs, runit take place for init in pid 1. i need in this booting phase running twice vdevd to have the good directory in /dev/input.

compared to udev or eudev, how much bigger RAM usage?

udev in console = 90 mega
vdev in console = 320 mega :o. if i umount the /dev/loop0 attached from /dev/metadata/hwdb ram used = 105 mega

wyzguy
Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Oct 2015, 07:09

Re: version 17.1

Postby wyzguy » 30 Oct 2015, 09:00

Scooby,

Please google for "mouse polling rate archwiki"

I tried the usbhid.mousepoll=8 (8 for 125hz) but it did not work.

There is also some *.conf file info.

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: version 17.1

Postby Scooby » 30 Oct 2015, 21:14

wyzguy wrote:Please google for "mouse polling rate archwiki"

I tried the usbhid.mousepoll=8 (8 for 125hz) but it did not work.

I checked it out

I could only get 125hz no matter what I did
for instance 4 that is 250Hz gave still 125 Hz with evhz-git utility from AUR
with

Code: Select all

rmmod usbhid && modprobe usbhid mousepoll=4


however

Code: Select all

cat /sys/module/usbhid/parameters/mousepoll


shows the correct value after I set it.

This thread suggest it won't make a difference with a cheap mouse
and mine is certainly that. How about yours?

I did some checking around the web and this seems to be a general problem that doesn't have a good solution.

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: version 17.1

Postby Scooby » 30 Oct 2015, 21:51

obarun wrote:i have updated hwdb.squashfs for insert evdev


I saw your pull request on github. What exactly did happen?
Do you have so new hardware that hwdb.squashfs was out of date?


Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron