pmount for alphaOS 10

Programming issues and discussion
Marv
Proficient
Posts: 81
Joined: 16 May 2013, 16:42

pmount for alphaOS 10

Postby Marv » 31 Aug 2013, 01:00

I'm now using pmount started from the tint2 panel in alphaOS 10. Both pmount and functions4puppy had to be modified because of the changed dir structure in newer Arch and the old symlink dc to busybox dc was replaced with a direct call to busybox dc. Since it is intended only for alphaOS, yaf-splash was replaced with gtkdialog-splash and I changed the names of both the above to reflect the alphaOS onlyness. Used the original GUI version for it's smaller dialog box. Haven't tried any FS exotica as I don't have any but works fine in daily use. The tarball below is for manual installation and testing if you wish . As usual, check permissions after untarring.

Edit: Modified 9/14/2013 to work in alphaOS 11. Eliminated need for symlinks gtkdialog3 and gtkdialog4 in /usr/bin.
Attachments
pmount_for_alphaOS.tar.gz
For trial, now for alphaOS 10 and 11
(11.16 KiB) Downloaded 235 times

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: pmount for alphaOS 10

Postby simargl » 31 Aug 2013, 08:58

Thanks for sharing this, someone might want to use pmount, for me spaceFM internal mounting is enough. Whenever I mount partition or USB, it is because I want to open some file, so I would need to start File manager anyway. ;)
Cheers.

Marv
Proficient
Posts: 81
Joined: 16 May 2013, 16:42

Re: pmount for alphaOS 10

Postby Marv » 31 Aug 2013, 13:32

ya, I do that too and SpaceFM works perfectly for it. Mostly I use pmount to make sure I unmount removable drives and occasionally to check free space on them. It's kind of a backup/failsafe for me.

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: pmount for alphaOS 10

Postby john3voltas » 11 Sep 2013, 07:56

I second simargl. I'm also fine using SpaceFM for mouting because if I'm mounting then I will be copying/deleting files for sure.
But it is very good to have a plan B too so thanks Marv :)

Marv
Proficient
Posts: 81
Joined: 16 May 2013, 16:42

Re: pmount for alphaOS 10 and 11

Postby Marv » 14 Sep 2013, 15:57

Now working in 11. patched pmount_alphaOS to point directly to gtkdialog eliminating need for gtkdialog3 and gtkdialog4 symlinks in /usr/bin. Modified version is uploaded above.

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: pmount for alphaOS 10

Postby john3voltas » 05 Oct 2013, 11:18

Thanks Marv. You and Scooby seem to be on roll.
Keep it up guys :)


Return to “Scripting and Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron