How to change kernel

Programming issues and discussion
simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: How to change kernel

Postby simargl » 09 Jul 2013, 21:43

That folder can be anywhere, only name must be linux (same as package name variable in def script). I've just logged into http://webchat.freenode.net from firefox, so if you're there maybe I can help...

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: How to change kernel

Postby john3voltas » 09 Jul 2013, 23:25

Many, many, many, many thanks for your help simargl.
Your help was invaluable.
But the system doesn't boot :(.
First it complained about not being able to find archpup_132.sfs.
Then I renamed alpha_80.sfs by archpup_132.sfs and it seemed like it was going to boot up but then it got stuck in "performing switch-root".
Then I even renamed extra_80.sfs by archapps_132.sfs but it still got stuck in switch-root.
So, either I missed something or it just isn't as easy as you had thought it would be :(.
I love alphaOS but without proper cpu-fan control it will kill my old laptop with temperatures higher than 90C when it should go around 45/50C.
What do you think?
Cheers

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: How to change kernel

Postby simargl » 10 Jul 2013, 16:08

You can try to start system with pfix=ram boot code to prevent save file from loading, and check that DISTRO_SPECS in initrd.gz is really the same as in main sfs module. I don't what else... Maybe there is some program to control cpu-fan with newer kernel used.

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: How to change kernel

Postby john3voltas » 10 Jul 2013, 18:07

Hi simargl.
I don't have a save file (yet).
But even so, I did as you advised me and I booted with pfix=ram. Didn't help, I still got stuck during bootup.
I will try to check on distro_specs. But I guess I'll need a detailed help to find where those are stored. :(
Many thanks for keep helping me with this.
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/wiki/doku. ... hpupkernel
Like it? You can remove it if you think it's not needed.
Cheers

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: How to change kernel

Postby john3voltas » 16 Jul 2013, 04:50

Still regarding cpu fans not working properly and inducing to cpu overheating, I found many remarks about an issue with sandy bridge and ivy bridge that looks just like this. https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1234775#p1234775
That issue still hasn't been solved and was introduced after kernel 3.5.
Kernels <=3.5 should work fine, tough.
So here comes a very special request: could you please build a 3.5 (or older) kernel that I can use with alphaOS 8 to see if the cpu fans work properly preventing cpu heating?
Cheers


Return to “Scripting and Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron