How to change kernel

Programming issues and discussion
john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

How to change kernel

Postby john3voltas » 27 May 2013, 18:27

Ok, I have done a lot of testing with the cpu temperature.
It turns out that none of the alphaOS releases has been working ok on my laptop.
And besides my laptop I now have another case: my wife's netbook.
Both computers tested with alphaOS 4, 5, 6 and 7 and neither have the CPU fan working up until when the CPU enters a critical state.
But then I tested ArchPup 13.2 on them and both work fine.
CPU temperature well under the limits (around 45C and 50C) and I can clearly hear the CPU fan always working silently and smoothly. The CPU fan only works faster from 50C onwards when I stress the CPU.
AlphaOS has been running kernel 3.8 and 3.9. ArchPup uses kernel 3.4. Don't know if it means anything.
simargl can you think of anything that can be causing this?
TIA ;)
Cheers

-----
Moved from Announcements

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: alphaOS 7.0

Postby simargl » 27 May 2013, 19:58

Interesting... maybe try replacing AlphaOS kernel with version 3.4 from ArchPup, and then test with that one. Replacing kernel is not too complicated... until you come to modules in initrd.gz
:geek:

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: alphaOS 7.0

Postby john3voltas » 27 May 2013, 20:30

Listen, I'm not saying it's due to kernel.
But you had said it yourself (on freeforums forum) that we were using the same kernel since the beginning.
Well, yes, we had been using the same since you named the project alphaOS because prior to that, in the ArchPup days, we had been using a different series of kernel 3.4.
But you know me, I'm a complete Linux ignorant :mrgreen: .
So as far as I can tell it can be just about anything.

Say, could you help me to replace alphaOS kernel with ArchPup kernel?
Or even better, can you post a veeery detailed step-by-step guide on how to build alphaOS from scratch? That would be a killer guide :mrgreen: .
Cheers

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: alphaOS 7.0

Postby simargl » 27 May 2013, 22:28

john3voltas wrote:could you help me to replace alphaOS kernel with ArchPup kernel?

Ok, let's try that

1) you need vmlinuz from archpup, just copy that file over original alphaos in you installation folder

2) now replace kernel modules in alpha.sfs with:

unsquashfs alpha.sfs

delete /lib/modules/3.9
copy /lib/modules/3.4
from archpup, and compress sfs file again

squashfs squashfs-root alpha.sfs

3) Final step is to replace modules in initrd.gz, for that you need package manager and script called newinit - so download two repositories:
hg clone https://bitbucket.org/simargl/arch-base
hg clone https://bitbucket.org/simargl/spkg


now make linux kernel spkg package using pack function

3.1) make folder with name linux
3.2) inside that folder make file named def with content:
name="linux"
version="3.4"
revision="1"

3.3) now in folder linux, make folders install/lib/modules/3.4 and copy /lib/modules/3.4/* from archpup
3.4) type spkg pack linux, now you should have linux-3.4-1.spkg (about 17MB package)

4) copy that package to: /mnt/home/data/arch-base/00_kernel/spkg/packages. Now change variables KERNEL_VERSION and KERNEL_PACKAGE in scripts/functions file from arch-base repository, you cloned before
............
# INITRD VARIABLES

KERNEL_VERSION="3.9.1-ALPHAOS"
INITRD_TREE="$PWD/../initrd-tree"
MODULES_DIR="$pkgdir/linux/install"
KERNEL_PACKAGE="linux-3.9.2-1.spkg"
............

now run script sh ./newinit from that same folder. New initrd.gz should be under /mnt/home/data/spkg/packages

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: alphaOS 7.0

Postby john3voltas » 27 May 2013, 22:38

I promise I will try this but I will need time (to keep focused on your instructions) and tonight just doesn't seem like my little daughter is going to allow me some time to try it :mrgreen: .
BTW, those bitbucket repos need a command called 'hg'. Does alphaOS come with that command?
Cheers

ndrancs
Competent
Posts: 29
Joined: 26 May 2013, 22:24
Contact:

Re: How to change kernel

Postby ndrancs » 30 May 2013, 15:18

Please try this too: Change the CPU governor:
http://alphaos.freeforums.org/ondemand- ... r-t23.html
===signature begin===
alphat64 the remaster of alphaOS v14.5 with init from fatdog64 v630
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1045
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92727
===signature end===

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: alphaOS 7.0

Postby simargl » 30 May 2013, 15:40

john3voltas wrote:Or even better, can you post a veeery detailed step-by-step guide on how to build alphaOS from scratch? That would be a killer guide :mrgreen: .
Cheers

http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/wiki/doku.php?id=home:build

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: alphaOS 7.0

Postby john3voltas » 09 Jul 2013, 13:08

I am sorry but due to health reasons I am only able to test this today...

simargl wrote:delete /lib/modules/3.9
copy /lib/modules/3.4
from archpup, and compress sfs file again

Inside of /lib/modules of ArchPup there is a folder named 3.4.28-ARCHPUP
Inside of /lib/modules of AlphaOS there is a folder named 3.8.x-ALPHA
Notice different folder names.
Do I erase 3.8.x-ALPHA and copy 3.4.28-ARCHPUP to that same path?

simargl wrote:squashfs squashfs-root alpha.sfs

That should be mksquashfs squashfs-root alpha.sfs right? Because I couldn't find any squashfs command.

simargl wrote:3) Final step is to replace modules in initrd.gz, for that you need package manager and script called newinit - so download two repositories:
hg clone https://bitbucket.org/simargl/arch-base
hg clone https://bitbucket.org/simargl/spkg



For that I need to install hgsvn package, right? (pacman -S hgsvn)
I tried to clone arch-base but got a 404 not found error message :(

Code: Select all

[root@archpup lin-test]# hg clone https://bitbucket.org/simargl/arch-base
warning: bitbucket.org certificate with fingerprint 24:9c:45:8b:9c:aa:ba:55:4e:01:6d:58:ff:e4:28:7d:2a:14:ae:3b not verified (check hostfingerprints or web.cacerts config setting)
abort: HTTP Error 404: Not Found

Should I use alphaOS instead?

Code: Select all

https://bitbucket.org/simargl/alphaos

And from this point forward I would need someone's experienced assistance through IRC chat/IM.
Could someone please help me with this?
EDIT: I just took the liberty to register #alphaos at freenode.
Everybody can easily log in and chat around using either a IRC client or the WebIRC client here http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=alphaos&uio=d4.
This is still an unofficial channel because it still doesn't have simargl's blessing.
I have the registration but I will gladly give it up to simargl if he wants it.
Cheers

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: How to change kernel

Postby simargl » 09 Jul 2013, 17:37

You are correct with everything

bitbucket sources are now at
https://bitbucket.org/simargl/alphaos

Also ,in scripts/functions don't forget to define right kernel variables.

# INITRD VARIABLES

KERNEL_VERSION="3.9.1-ALPHAOS" # replace with what is in new /lib/modules
INITRD_TREE="$PWD/../initrd-tree"
MODULES_DIR="$pkgdir/linux/install"
KERNEL_PACKAGE="linux-3.9.2-1.spkg" # replace with correct package name

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: alphaOS 7.0

Postby john3voltas » 09 Jul 2013, 21:08

simargl wrote:3.1) make folder with name linux

As stated on my previous message, I think it would be easier if someone experienced on alphaOS could give me a hand on these last steps through either IRC or MSN/Jabber.
For instance, where shall I make the above mentioned "linux" folder? Inside the newly created HG folders (alphaos/spkg)?
Cheers


Return to “Scripting and Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron