[SOLVED] Wireless problems workaround

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
fredx
Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Sep 2013, 20:52

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby fredx » 25 Oct 2013, 12:55

Hi simargl
Sorry to say... it didn't work for me.
But I'm not absolutely sure i did the right thing.
What I did was copy the contents of the 'install' folder to the filesystem root with spacefm and overwrite all.
Then rebooted with a fresh savefile and tried to connect.. same error message from frisbee/wpa_supplicant.
I noticed that all the files are newer but exactly the same size, is that right?
You can't test wireless, I understand but can't you test on something else?
(Scooby mentioned something about building virtualbox that's also affected by modules not loading.)
And thanks for your effords!

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby Scooby » 25 Oct 2013, 13:08

I second that - it didnt work.

Copied over the files from install into alpa_12 and resquashed.

Removed symlink sbin --> bin

rebooted and got no wlan interface with ifconfig

fredx wrote:(Scooby mentioned something about building virtualbox that's also affected by modules not loading.)


During build of virtualbox /sbin/modprobe has to be present.

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby simargl » 25 Oct 2013, 14:19

Thanks for your tests, obviously that didn't work, so symbolic link /sbin to /bin will be added to fix loading modules for wireless.

Scooby wrote:
fredx wrote:(Scooby mentioned something about building virtualbox that's also affected by modules not loading.)


During build of virtualbox /sbin/modprobe has to be present.

I used virtualbox for months with modprobe in /bin without problems, only had to add modprobe vboxdrv to /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh, script vboxsfs does that automatically.

Code: Select all

mv install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh.tmp
sed -e'/^#       because the user might not want to run a VM but only change VM params!/a modprobe vboxdrv' install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh.tmp > install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby Scooby » 25 Oct 2013, 20:09

simargl wrote:I used virtualbox for months with modprobe in /bin without problems, only had to add modprobe vboxdrv to /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh, script vboxsfs does that automatically.

Code: Select all

mv install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh.tmp
sed -e'/^#       because the user might not want to run a VM but only change VM params!/a modprobe vboxdrv' install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh.tmp > install/opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh


Maybe you built the VBox before you removed sbin dir?

I am not saying that VBox doesnt run without sbin symlinked, I am saying I get an error during build.

I'm also building version 4.3.3, I think you built 4.2.18, maybe somethings changed?

My version of vboxsfs did not work fully. Must've installed somthing that put symlink /usr/bin/python --> /usr/bin/python3.3
I will upload a modified version that will also take this scenario into account.
.

simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby simargl » 25 Oct 2013, 21:56

I noticed that warning, but there is no problem since kernel module builds and loads ok, I done that many times with different Virualbox versions and different kernels.

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby john3voltas » 27 Oct 2013, 14:21

I have tried this workaround on my wife's EeePC but it didn't work.
It is an Asus 1015PEM https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ASUS_Eee_PC#Eee_1015_PE.2FPEM.
As stated in Archlinux's wiki the Wifi chipset is Broadcom's BCM4313.
Frisbee says that it doesn't have a Wlan0 but lspci clearly shows the BCM4313.
Am I missing a driver? A module? A firmware file? Or is this simply just the Wifi issue that's been bugging us ever since 8.0?
Cheers

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby Scooby » 28 Oct 2013, 12:32

john3voltas wrote:I have tried this workaround on my wife's EeePC but it didn't work.


Which one did you try?

fredx's symlinking of sbin to bin

or

simargls recompile of eudev with option
--with-modprobe=modprobe

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby john3voltas » 28 Oct 2013, 17:52

Hi Scooby.
In fact I tried fredx's symlinking.
I didn't notice no simargl's eudev recompile. Do you mean there's another way around this?
Cheers

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby Scooby » 28 Oct 2013, 18:09

neh, Thought maybe you tried sims recompile and missed fredx's

the recompile doesnt work but symlinking fredx style seemed to work for many people.

rodyaj
Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Oct 2013, 16:58

Re: Wireless problems workaround

Postby rodyaj » 29 Oct 2013, 17:01

Thanks fredx. The symlinking method fixed the wireless on my Thinkpad T61.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron