New AUR format

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

New AUR format

Postby Scooby » 09 Aug 2015, 20:29

Arch upgraded AUR to run on git so makesb for AUR stopped working

fear not, here comes upgraded version

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rxkzlfaeehxrm ... an.sb?dl=1

After further investigation you need a new version of pacman and makepkg as well

Download here: pacman_4.2.1-3.sb

Its based on apacman instead of packer and there is also some other improvenents.

Builds in /tmp

Respects a global var called ENV_MODULES_DIR that could be set with
possibly in /etc/profile.d/add_moddule_path.sh

export ENV_MODULES_DIR="/path/to/your/modules"


Speed improvement for AUR builds

*EDIT*
Bug fixed apacman
Added new pacman package


There are some rare packages in AUR that may have to be build as root with makepkg --asroot
I made this makepkg-asroot.sb

The work flow is then

1. Try to build with makesb and fail
2. Got to /tmp/pkgbuild-0/<the-package>
3. run command toggle-asroot-makepkg
4. do makepkg --asroot

efgee
Expert
Posts: 115
Joined: 29 Dec 2013, 20:58

Re: New AUR format

Postby efgee » 11 Aug 2015, 07:35

Was thinking about the change to git and what the impact would be.
Thank you for taking care of it.

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: New AUR format

Postby Scooby » 12 Aug 2015, 18:38

Never a problem sharing what I did to get it
to work for my self :D

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: New AUR format

Postby Scooby » 22 Aug 2015, 14:26

Some packages in AUR still didn't build correctly so bugfixed apacman
and added latest pacman package which you need.

See first post for Downloads

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: New AUR format

Postby john3voltas » 24 Aug 2015, 03:50

Scooby, I am a bit worried about AlphaOS.
As it stands right now, AlphaOS 16.1 was launched in 2014 and doesn't allow updates.
It is my assumption that you are taking the time to make some changes to the way the system works before making your 1st release.
But right now AlphaOS is very outdated and has many nasty vulnerabilities.
Would it be possible for you to launch an up-to-date AlphaOS image which will work with an up-to-date ARM?
Thanks mate

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: New AUR format

Postby Scooby » 24 Aug 2015, 18:10

I feel you mate

What do you mean doesn't allow upgrades?

Yeah a release would be good.

I have been collaborating in testing vdev to get it to a working state.

a release is lot of work though recompiling kernel and all
we are like 3 users?

What I can say is that I will keep on using it and share with others my findings.

Anyway what browser do you recommend as default? midori?


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron