Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
pedrolakeside
Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Mar 2015, 02:05

Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby pedrolakeside » 18 Mar 2015, 02:09

Hello, I tested Alpha OS in my note and worked very best, rapid, stable, but doesn't recognize network, cable and wifi.

In Arch OS recognize and in Antergos too, but Alpha OS is rapid than Antergos and have best look.

Thanks

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby Scooby » 18 Mar 2015, 20:33

Sim wanted to shrink alphaos as much as possible so there have been reports
of net not working

Could try installing linux-firmware

Will try to broaden the support of wifi hardware in next release

pedrolakeside
Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Mar 2015, 02:05

Re: Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby pedrolakeside » 18 Mar 2015, 23:08

Hi Scooby, but don't recognize too Ethernet cable. I tried connect the cable but don't appears this connection, when I open browser is offline. Thanks

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby Scooby » 19 Mar 2015, 10:11

pedrolakeside wrote:but don't recognize too Ethernet cable. I tried connect the cable but don't appears this connection


hmmm

issue in terminal

Code: Select all

ifconfig


and tell me results

also could try in terminal command

Code: Select all

dhcpcd


and tell me output

also you could check dmesg and tell me output

plus can you tell me what hardware dealing with network you got
I only get Portuguese matches when searching for it

pedrolakeside
Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Mar 2015, 02:05

Re: Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby pedrolakeside » 20 Mar 2015, 01:16

Hi Scooby, i make this the result is above


Code: Select all

[root@alphaos ~]# dhcpcd
dhcpcd[3038]: version 6.5.1 starting
dhcpcd[3038]: wlp1s0: adding address fe80::6eef:641f:f441:43b1
dhcpcd[3045]: wlp1s0: starting wpa_supplicant
dhcpcd[3048]: wlp1s0: failed to start wpa_supplicant
dhcpcd[3049]: wlp1s0: Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
Line 1182: unknown EAP method 'SIM'
You may need to add support for this EAP method during wpa_supplicant
build time configuration.
See README for more information.
Line 1182: failed to parse eap 'SIM'.
Line 1185: failed to parse network block.
Line 1192: unknown EAP method 'PSK'
You may need to add support for this EAP method during wpa_supplicant
build time configuration.
See README for more information.
Line 1192: failed to parse eap 'PSK'.
Line 1196: failed to parse network block.
Line 1228: unknown EAP method 'IKEV2'
You may need to add support for this EAP method during wpa_supplicant
build time configuration.
See README for more information.
Line 1228: failed to parse eap 'IKEV2'.
Line 1231: failed to parse network block.
Failed to read or parse configuration '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'.
dhcpcd[3038]: no interfaces have a carrier
dhcpcd[3038]: forked to background, child pid 3062

[root@alphaos ~]# ifconfig
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 16  bytes 1168 (1.1 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 16  bytes 1168 (1.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0





Ethernet Cards is Acer InviLink™ Nplify™ 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi CERTIFIED

Graphics : AMD Radeon™ HD 8210

AMD E-Series dual-core processor E1-2100

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby Scooby » 20 Mar 2015, 19:25

try this

1.
issue command

Code: Select all

iwconfig

to check names of your interfaces
I guess your wlan is called wlp1s0
but what is ethernet called? perhaps enp2s0???

2.
issue commands below but replace enp2s0 what you found with iwconfig above

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlp1s0 down
ifconfig enp2s0 up          # replace enp2s0 what you found with iwconfig above


3.
run dhcpcd with ethernet cable connected and post output here



I believe firmware was found for your network module and according to this it should be
called b43

do you get anything by issuing

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep b43

pedrolakeside
Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Mar 2015, 02:05

Re: Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby pedrolakeside » 20 Mar 2015, 23:38

Hi Scooby, the dhcpcd result is with ethernet cable plugged, I will do this and plug the results. Thanks

Anniekin
Competent
Posts: 37
Joined: 06 Nov 2014, 03:14
Contact:

Re: Acer Aspire V5 123-3824 Network

Postby Anniekin » 22 Mar 2015, 05:53

welcome

I am using alphaos on the same netbook

Let us hope the next release will include a more rich featured network manager

: D


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron