Next version of alphaos

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 11 Feb 2015, 15:15

I think alphaos needs a wiki page.

Anyone interested in setting this up?

jonas
Competent
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 11:46

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby jonas » 11 Feb 2015, 22:52

Scooby wrote:You do know that linux intelligently prefetches
data into RAM so even without toram if you
only booted with base modules and have like 4GB RAM you would feel no difference

Yes, I know, so for me the main point of toram (which I don't normally use) would be if I want to remove the usb after boot is finished. With a savefile I guess that would cause problems...

Scooby wrote:/toram and /changes both reside in folder
/mnt/live/memory so there is no conflict

Yes, I see now that I misread the script. Told you I'm not a programmer :)

crashsite
Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: 13 Jan 2015, 04:40

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby crashsite » 12 Feb 2015, 04:49

hmm I tried to create a savefile while booted in toram. Guess what happened? :roll:
yeah, savefile got created in the ram, and size got bigger than actual memory so everything dies.

For the next version, maybe add a check for savefile size vs free memory on the device and the possibility to create the savefile at a user selected location? I know there is an easy work around (boot without toram), but it is more a matter of user friendliness.... ;)

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 12 Feb 2015, 09:20

jonas wrote:Yes, I see now that I misread the script. Told you I'm not a programmer :)

for a not programmer you have a very good grasp
of programming, I'd say your only a mouse-step away

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 12 Feb 2015, 09:33

crashsite wrote:hmm I tried to create a savefile while booted in toram. Guess what happened? :roll:
yeah, savefile got created in the ram, and size got bigger than actual memory so everything dies.

ok, I think I never ever tried that
will check code and decide what todo

crashsite wrote:For the next version, maybe add a check for savefile size vs free memory on the device and the possibility to create the savefile at a user selected location? I know there is an easy work around (boot without toram), but it is more a matter of user friendliness.... ;)


I beg you all to remember alphaos is really only
one programmer with a userbase of perhaps five.

It will always be an os where you will have to
tweak a lot yourselves. I am not really interested in making it 100% userfriendly.
more aiming at enthusiasts

I will always help you but be prepared to do some work yourselves

Time is sparse for all so instead of thinking of all possible features, think of the ones you really
like

The rest will have to go on a separate list for
to be chewed off if I get unemployed or something similar

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 12 Feb 2015, 11:01

crashsite wrote:hmm I tried to create a savefile while booted in toram. Guess what happened? :roll:
yeah, savefile got created in the ram, and size got bigger than actual memory so everything dies

oh I just remembered that I wrote an alternative savefile creation tool , in vala I believe.

I think in that you will specify where you want to
put savefile. It could probably be used in your scenario

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1074

maybe this is better using gtkdialog
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1174&p=3323&hilit=savefile_create.sb#p3323

jonas
Competent
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 11:46

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby jonas » 12 Feb 2015, 11:26

Scooby wrote:I found out sim is using a custom linux-firmware module which is of size 2.7MB
the on on arch is 24MB. Should I add all 24MB or only jonas's 7260 firmware

i.e is it a problem if iso grows? iso could be reaching 200MB boundary soon?

Also I saw in new linux-firmware b43 was missing

What to do?

The firmware package in latest Porteus 3.1 is only slightly bigger than in AlphaOS but newer and includes at least the Intel 7260 firmware. Maybe you can use that? Anyway, installing the full linux-firmware from Arch, if needed, is not so difficult. Having to recompile kernel modules is more of a hassle.

Anniekin
Competent
Posts: 37
Joined: 06 Nov 2014, 03:14
Contact:

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Anniekin » 12 Feb 2015, 12:52

Scooby wrote:I beg you all to remember alphaos is really only
one programmer with a userbase of perhaps five.
It will always be an os where you will have to
tweak a lot yourselves. I am not really interested in making it 100% userfriendly.
more aiming at enthusiasts

I will always help you but be prepared to do some work yourselves

Time is sparse for all so instead of thinking of all possible features, think of the ones you really
like

The rest will have to go on a separate list for
to be chewed off if I get unemployed or something similar

everyone could benefit from an elite system like alphaos, from the home to the corporate office, yet it's not getting the attention it deserves because it's not funded to compensate for the time and energy required from those who have to make a living. I would enjoy nothing more than a profession installing, tweaking, and customizing a system like this. Unfortunately, there is no demand, because it's not understood. It needs a way to monetize in order to grow

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 13 Feb 2015, 20:31

john3voltas wrote:2. I don't know...packer has been in the heart of alphaos for a long time. :S What exactly is the reason to change to apacman?


I can report that work with apacman move along splendidly.
I have had a dialog with creator upstream and he has integrated some of our ideas.

I have re-written the makesb toolchain to work with apacman instead
and it works really well.

added advantages with this

  • Makepkg config has been tweaked so when building packages from AUR
    there is no need to compress twice anymore, that is it will be twice as fast

  • No removing of files in cache so if building more than once for instance
    pacman dependencies only have to be downoaded once

  • Makesb passthrough of parameters so you can do makesb -Ss package_name instead of
    pacman -Ss package_name

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 14 Feb 2015, 23:14

jonas wrote:The firmware package in latest Porteus 3.1 is only slightly bigger than in AlphaOS but newer and includes at least the Intel 7260 firmware. Maybe you can use that? Anyway, installing the full linux-firmware from Arch, if needed, is not so difficult. Having to recompile kernel modules is more of a hassle.

Couldn't find it
Got a server malfunction on repo link

You did search it in repo and not on iso?


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron