Next version of alphaos

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
crashsite
Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: 13 Jan 2015, 04:40

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby crashsite » 28 Jan 2015, 04:40

Connmann works fine for me, although the UI is ugly... And I feel that it is a bit feature limited. There is nothing to tweak out of the UI. I've never tried peasywifi so really no opinion on this. As long as wifi works out of the box i'm happy. ;)

As for the wish list...
The "Web Browser" right click menu or through the app menu is annoying when using SB modules. All links try to open this, which say that I don't have a browser installed. Just not really useful with makesb. Maybe get this "web browser" a more "intelligent" script to detect if a browser is available? Or remove it and bundle a browser with AlphaOS (sb).

and I have issues with openbox. Intermittent freezes of the task bar and app menu that requires a reboot. Restarting openbox doesn't seem to help recover. I might be the only one... and i am out of luck since there is no new version of openbox.

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 28 Jan 2015, 18:15

crashsite wrote:Connmann works fine for me, although the UI is ugly... And I feel that it is a bit feature limited. There is nothing to tweak out of the UI. I've never tried peasywifi so really no opinion on this. As long as wifi works out of the box i'm happy. ;)

score:

peasywifi: 2
undecided: 3
connmann: 1


crashsite wrote:The "Web Browser" right click menu or through the app menu is annoying when using SB modules. All links try to open this, which say that I don't have a browser installed. Just not really useful with makesb. Maybe get this "web browser" a more "intelligent" script to detect if a browser is available? Or remove it and bundle a browser with AlphaOS (sb).

I will try to rewrite it. Which browser are you running that doesn't work.

Anyway you who are familiar with sq-file should be a fast fix. Add you own browser to list in /usr/bin/web-browser and sq-file it!?

crashsite wrote:and I have issues with openbox. Intermittent freezes of the task bar and app menu that requires a reboot. Restarting openbox doesn't seem to help recover. I might be the only one... and i am out of luck since there is no new version of openbox.

Are you running in a hypervisor i.e. something like virtualbox?

can you still reach a terminal? Can you get some error messages?

No one else have reported this

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 28 Jan 2015, 19:20

Probably I will wait out the release of kernel 3.19 which is scheduled for release in two weeks.

It will contain overlayfs in kernel with support for several lower readonly branches and this is
something I want to fiddle with.

also lz4 is added to squashfs and I would like to try it in makesb.
to see if the speed is worth the sacrificed compression ratio.

probabably should add config file for makesb(arch2sb) for choice of
compression anyway.

made a quick test on alpha_16

Code: Select all

                   size, compressed                     decomp. time
xz                         66MB                                       2.805s   
lz4                      106MB                                        0.009s


decomp. time is not the same as mount time.
I will have to try this in new kernel

jonas
Competent
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 11:46

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby jonas » 29 Jan 2015, 14:59

Scooby wrote:I would like some input on what you like


I would like:

- support for more recent hardware, e.g. Intel Wireless 7260: http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1175&p=3334&hilit=jonas#p3325

- the savefile added to union in initram also for usbmode so that e.g. rc.conf can be used: http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1175&hilit=jonas&start=10#p3357

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 29 Jan 2015, 21:32

Heeyyy jonas is still with us
The "watcher" is back....

...and that is great, welcome back

jonas wrote:- support for more recent hardware, e.g. Intel Wireless 7260: http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1175&p=3334&hilit=jonas#p3325

I'm willing to comply with your request.

I found out sim is using a custom linux-firmware module which is of size 2.7MB
the on on arch is 24MB. Should I add all 24MB or only jonas's 7260 firmware

i.e is it a problem if iso grows? iso could be reaching 200MB boundary soon?

Also I saw in new linux-firmware b43 was missing

What to do?

jonas wrote:- the savefile added to union in initram also for usbmode so that e.g. rc.conf can be used: http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1175&hilit=jonas&start=10#p3357


Actually man I checked your old thread and have been running with the fix in one of my bundles
It doesn't create any problems in regular boot, dunnow about usbmode

however I am willing to do this change provided that you commit yourself to test it
and report findings here at this forum.

The fix is the one I suggested to move read_boot_codes in /etc/rc.d/functions
in the old post not to mount savefile readonly in initrfs.img


Anyway jonas, how good a programmer are you?

smil99
Proficient
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 Sep 2013, 13:37

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby smil99 » 30 Jan 2015, 09:00

scooby wrote:
is it a problem if iso grows? iso could be reaching 200MB boundary soon

No problem for me if we have around that size with more functionality.
Cheers.

jonas
Competent
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 11:46

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby jonas » 30 Jan 2015, 09:17

Scooby wrote:I found out sim is using a custom linux-firmware module which is of size 2.7MB
the on on arch is 24MB. Should I add all 24MB or only jonas's 7260 firmware

i.e is it a problem if iso grows? iso could be reaching 200MB boundary soon?


In addition to adding the proper .ucode in /usr/lib/firmware, I also had to backport the iwlwifi driver to get wireless working. For me it is not a problem if the iso grows a little bit (I also have no sound on my laptop).

Scooby wrote:The fix is the one I suggested to move read_boot_codes in /etc/rc.d/functions
in the old post not to mount savefile readonly in initrfs.img


Do you mean to move read_bootcodes higher up in rc.sysinit? Then you have to put it before /etc/rc.conf is sourced. Preferably also before /etc/rc.d/functions is sourced but then you have to source read_bootcodes from somewhere else...

Scooby wrote:Anyway jonas, how good a programmer are you?


I'm not a programmer :(


Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 30 Jan 2015, 15:41

jonas wrote:In addition to adding the proper .ucode in /usr/lib/firmware, I also had to backport the iwlwifi driver to get wireless working. For me it is not a problem if the iso grows a little bit (I also have no sound on my laptop).

Will try to figure this out me programming, you testing OK?

jonas wrote:Do you mean to move read_bootcodes higher up in rc.sysinit? Then you have to put it before /etc/rc.conf is sourced. Preferably also before /etc/rc.d/functions is sourced but then you have to source read_bootcodes from somewhere else...

That's a good point, Are you sure you're not a programmer?

Anyway how about resourcing /etc/rc.config in the conditional statement
of usbmode in read_boot_codes

Code: Select all

read_bootcodes()
{
  if grep -q usbmode /proc/cmdline; then
    if [ -d "/mnt/live/memory/bundles/changes.fs4" ]; then
      mount -n -o remount,add:1:/mnt/live/memory/bundles/changes.fs4=rr aufs /
      .  /etc/rc,conf
    fi
  fi
    if grep -q noxorg /proc/cmdline; then
    sed -i 's|X_AUTOLOGIN="yes"|X_AUTOLOGIN="no"|g' /etc/rc.conf
  fi 
}


And place the call to read_boot_codes as the first line in loading_kernel_modules()
also as you can see I switch places of the two if statements to let noxorg work in usbmode

comments?

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Next version of alphaos

Postby Scooby » 30 Jan 2015, 15:44

Anniekin wrote:save folder instead of file like in porteus?

I saw they discussed/implemented it in puppy forum.

Dunnow what is required to make it work

What are the advantages of savefolder?
Is this something you are actually missing or just a fetaure you think
should be in alphaOS?

savefolder requires a linux partition.

This will not be on top of my list
You have to convince me why alphaos needs this feature


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron