Static IP address

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Static IP address

Postby Scooby » 15 Jan 2015, 19:53

ggg wrote:Ok , thank you, finally I could make it work. I found a downside to play the files : Can not Resize .Anyway .

According to this there at least
exist a hacky way to do it with reencoding on the fly
that is with ffmpeg

ggg wrote: I'd like Vuze recognize also , to avoid having two very heavy processes running simultaneously . The problem apparently is that Samsung and Linux are connecting to different IPs.

And you are sure this is working with vuze and linux, please post link to page
were they say static IP will solve the issue


ggg wrote:How to make Alphaos connect to the same IP that Samsung ? Or a Static IP?

I have a router, I would assign a static IP in router config via mac-adress

I saw on newer versions of peasywifi ( not the one I put up on this forum)
have a tab for using static ip. But if you want that I believe you have
some porting issues to solve

ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

Re: Static IP address

Postby ggg » 15 Jan 2015, 21:57

According to this there at least
exist a hacky way to do it with reencoding on the fly
that is with ffmpeg


its ok, the second time began full screen, works well.

And you are sure this is working with vuze and linux, please post link to page
were they say static IP will solve the issue


https://razec.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/quicktips-samsung-smart-tv-alternativa-para-o-allshare/

Obs: Samsung Smart TV precisa estar conectada na rede de sua casa assim como na mesma faixa de IP. Tive problemas em faixas diferentes de IP.
Exemplo:

192.168.1.100 (Samsung Smart TV)
192.168.1.4 (OSX Linux).

I have a router, I would assign a static IP in router config via mac-adress

I saw on newer versions of peasywifi ( not the one I put up on this forum)
have a tab for using static ip. But if you want that I believe you have
some porting issues to solve


there are some postings about to set static ip in archlinux , but my question is if I have to uninstall something or just keep common steps ? I need some help installing peacewify in alphaos ?

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Static IP address

Postby Scooby » 16 Jan 2015, 19:02

yeah but the whole quote says
---------------------------8<------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test:

Mac OS X Lion

Samsung Smart TV UD5500
O que fazer?

0.) Faça download do Vuze - http://www.vuze.com.

1.) Instale o Vuze Torrent Client em seu OSX Lion.

2.) Ligue a sua Samsung Smart TV.

*Obs: Samsung Smart TV precisa estar conectada na rede de sua casa assim como na mesma faixa de IP. Tive problemas em faixas diferentes de IP.
Exemplo:

192.168.1.100 (Samsung Smart TV)
192.168.1.4 (OSX Linux).
----------------------------------------------------------------------------->8----------------------------

I don't know spanish but to me it seems they are talking about mac osx, apple and not regular linux?

As I said and please check this link

https://wiki.vuze.com/w/FAQ_Devices#Wha ... devices.3F

it clearly states

What platforms are supported for devices?

Device Playback is supported on all Intel-based Mac OSX and Windows operating systems. Devices is not supported on Linux operating systems or on PowerPC-based Macintosh.

Not sure if your Mac is PowerPC? Open "About Vuze" from the Vuze menu, and check the "System" area in the bottom right. The line that starts "Mac OS X" will have "ppc" at the end on PowerPC Macs.



in google translate spanish

¿Qué plataformas son compatibles con dispositivos?

Dispositivo de reproducción es compatible con todos los sistemas operativos Mac OSX y Windows basados en Intel. Los dispositivos no se admite en los sistemas operativos Linux o en Macintosh basados en PowerPC.

No estoy seguro si tu Mac es PowerPC? Abra "Acerca de Vuze" en el menú Vuze, y compruebe el área de "sistema" en la parte inferior derecha. La línea que empieza "Mac OS X" tendrá "ppc" al final en PowerPC Macs.



As for peasywifi

install as said here

and setup static IP as explained here

PWF v2.5 can assign a static IP address to your WiFi adapter. This may be useful if you have an unstable network or hardware that experiences dhcpcd dropouts. With static IP, you can speed up connection considerably by decreasing the TIMEOUT variable.

1. Start PWF and click Config. Insert an available IP address from your network into the STATIC line. Leave the GATEWAY line blank.

2. Save and restart PWF.

3. Connect to a site and check with Status. It should show the static IP.

4. Check the file /etc/resolv.conf. It should show 8.8.8.8. This is the Google DNS nameserver. If you want a different public DNS, change the file resolv.conf.tail. Or you can assign the same nameserver that you use with DHCP.

5. PWF assumes that your router's gateway address is aaa.bbb.cc.1. But some routers use aaa.bbb.cc.254. In that case, change the GATEWAY setting in Config. You can check this with the "route" command.

6. To switch back to DHCP, erase the IP address in Config and reboot.


OBS! I haven't tried this myself !!!!

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Static IP address

Postby Scooby » 16 Jan 2015, 22:05

actually I stumbled across this in /etc/rc.conf

Code: Select all

# NETWORK
interface="eth0"
address=""
netmask=""
gateway=""


Don't remmeber how to use it but it looks like config
for static IP??

ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

Re: Static IP address

Postby ggg » 18 Jan 2015, 04:18

ok , looks like you're right about Vuze does not work in Linux.
I was getting used to Serviio , when I found an obstacle. Supports subtitles? How?

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Static IP address

Postby Scooby » 18 Jan 2015, 11:36

ggg wrote: I was getting used to Serviio , when I found an obstacle. Supports subtitles? How?


Yap it's an obstacle.
There are two ways around it for me

1, if it is mp4 file I use mmg(mkvmerge) to create a matroska container
with video and subtitle. My Sony bravia can play this file and show subtitles.
This is a really fast operation!

2, In serviio-console you can choose to re-encode on the fly with ffmpeg and
burn in subtitles.

Go to tab "Delievery" and then sub-tab "Subtitles"

I believe you have to have a fast computer todo on the
fly. otherwise you surely can burn in subtitles to a file on disk and then
display it on tv. A lengthy operation I believe

ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

Re: Static IP address

Postby ggg » 18 Jan 2015, 23:00

Thanks, I am now catching up with the theme of the subtitles, with mkvtoolnix-gtk. I would like to create an executable scrip to avoid having to always launch it from the console. Thanks

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Static IP address

Postby Scooby » 19 Jan 2015, 21:02

ggg wrote:Thanks, I am now catching up with the theme of the subtitles, with mkvtoolnix-gtk.

Did you try mmg?

Is it mmg you want to launch from menu?

Do you want to make a script that automates?

ggg wrote: I would like to create an executable scrip to avoid having to always launch it from the console. Thanks


Who's stopping you!?

ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

Re: Static IP address

Postby ggg » 20 Jan 2015, 20:49

Did you try mmg?



thought they were the same. Mmg and mkvtoolnix-gtk. its not?

Who's stopping you!?


nobody stops me, thanks to people like you to help me. ;)
I'll try to create an executable .sh file with commands:

hostname 1
serviiio &
serviio-console &

Saludos

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Static IP address

Postby Scooby » 20 Jan 2015, 21:22

thought they were the same. Mmg and mkvtoolnix-gtk. its not?

Looks like they are


Code: Select all

hostname 1
serviiio &
serviio-console &


yup and if you don't want console at all you can construct a .desktop file
in /usr/share/applications/ to point to that script file

Saludos amigo :D


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron