Beta tester/Bugs

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
MalwareMedic
Apprentice

Beta tester/Bugs

Postby MalwareMedic » 21 Sep 2014, 23:31

Hello I am a programmer from MalwareMedic an antivirus program for windows and would like to become a beta tester for alpha OS, although I program for windows I use linux because of the 1026 reasons.
Not sure if the right people to sign me up for that read this if not please tell me where I can.

Known Bugs:
-When installed it uses root which causes problems installing stuff
-When installing yaourt it refuses to install any packages saying there missing I believe this is because you don't have support for them please add yaourt or packer with your OS if you don't mind
-No way to change applications of panel/bar (I might be wrong about this)

Please note I'm using the latest version.
If you haven't had these bugs please leave a comment

Scooby
Site Admin

Re: Beta tester/Bugs

Postby Scooby » 22 Sep 2014, 16:15

First of all alphaos is not really a beta I believe but your comments are valuable all the same
You are welcome here

MalwareMedic wrote:-When installed it uses root which causes problems installing stuff

This is by design and not actually a bug
You could change user to "alpha" if in trouble

MalwareMedic wrote:-When installing yaourt it refuses to install any packages saying there missing I believe this is because you don't have support for them please add yaourt or packer with your OS if you don't mind

packer is the preferred tool for alphaos since it is used by great script makesb

packer is included in devel_15.sb

put that in your /modules directory and either
1) add it to union with bundle -a devel_15.sb
or
2) reboot

I am not sure what level your skill with linux is but you may have to issue first

Code: Select all

pacman -Sy

packer in devel_15.sb is patched for update-ca-certificates so you don't
have to do that

if you like the modular approach have a look at makesb