ALphaos.usb?????How???

Post your comments, questions, bug reports or suggest new features for alphaOS
ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby ggg » 05 Aug 2014, 00:37

I'm going crazy to run from pendrive with alphaos installed on the hard disk.
This is my grub:
# GRUB config. suit yourself
set rootPartUUID=65123215-d324-497e-8055-28c3a9367359
set alphaOSDir=/alphaos
set default=0
set timeout=5

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} fsck
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux usbmode" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} fsck usbmode
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux usbmode toram" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} fsck usbmode toram
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux debug" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} usbmode debug
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux fresh" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} fresh
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}

menuentry "Windows 7" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs

set root=(hd0,msdos1)
chainloader +1
}

What are the changes that must be made and the grub to boot from pendrive pendrive but not load the modules that I have installed on the hard disk. I have always done a thousand tests and failure. Thank you

smil99
Proficient
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 Sep 2013, 13:37

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby smil99 » 05 Aug 2014, 07:17

Grub in alphaos 15.3 has

Code: Select all

set alphaOSDir=/alphaos
right at the top. This implies the system automatically looks for files only from that directory which is obviously on a hard disk. So far, I haven't found a way to boot an USB install from grub. It was quite easy with Grub4Dos in the older releases of alphaos.
In the mean time, I use suse's imagewriter to write isos to usb. You may try that with

Code: Select all

makesb imagewriter

Cheers.

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby Scooby » 05 Aug 2014, 15:48

ggg wrote:I'm going crazy to run from pendrive with alphaos installed on the hard disk.
...
What are the changes that must be made and the grub to boot from pendrive pendrive but not load the modules that I have installed on the hard disk. I have always done a thousand tests and failure. Thank you


To boot without any modules loaded I would use
in your context
(see discussion here viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1059&p=2574&hilit=nomodules#p2574 )

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux No Modules" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel but no modules ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} load=none
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}


observe that none in load=none is not a keyword, it could be anything that doesn't exist
like "xxxrryyyyxxxyyyaaa"





Mine looks like this:

Code: Select all

menuentry "15.0 AlphaOS No Modules, No savefile, no toram" {
set my_root="15alphaos64"
search --no-floppy --file --set=root /$my_root/boot/initrfs.img
linux /$my_root/boot/vmlinuz from=$my_root load=none fresh
initrd /$my_root/boot/initrfs.img
}

ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby ggg » 05 Aug 2014, 17:37

hello. thanks for responding.

I don understand for what is menuentry with usbmode:

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux usbmode" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} fsck usbmode
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby Scooby » 05 Aug 2014, 21:17

ggg wrote:hello. thanks for responding.
I don understand for what is menuentry with usbmode:


from system README's
Also, bootcode usbmode should be used always when alphaos
is installed to USB drive to reduce number of device writes.


Bootcode usbmode
Meaning Save session only before reboot or shutdown
to decrease number of writes to the USB drive


The difference is how the savefile is mounted and handled i.e what you add
to your savefile is first temporary stored in RAM when alphaos closes
all your chnages are saved to the real savefile existing on USB


if you have modules and savefile (changes.fs4) on hardrive
and only use usb for booting
there is no reason to use usbmode

ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby ggg » 06 Aug 2014, 01:18

With the previous version of Alphaos, I had two folders with different Alphaos and its respective entry in menu.lst
With grub.cfg do the same?

Thanks Cheers

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby Scooby » 06 Aug 2014, 06:19

yes

ggg
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 20:27

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby ggg » 06 Aug 2014, 17:41

But if I put a folder with different name (alphaos2) how grub.cfg work and the configuration how has to be. Thaks

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: ALphaos.usb?????How???

Postby Scooby » 07 Aug 2014, 15:21

ggg wrote:But if I put a folder with different name (alphaos2) how grub.cfg work and the configuration how has to be. Thaks


Declare a second variable then
see segundo_alphaOSDir variable below

Code: Select all

# GRUB config. suit yourself
set rootPartUUID=65123215-d324-497e-8055-28c3a9367359
set alphaOSDir=/alphaos
set segundo_alphaOSDir="/alphaos2"
set default=0
set timeout=5

menuentry "alphaOS Segundo GNU/Linux" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS Segundo GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${segundo_alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${segundo_alphaOSDir} fsck
echo 'Loading alphaOS Segundo GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${segundo_alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}

menuentry "alphaOS GNU/Linux" {
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
insmod search_fs_uuid

search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root ${rootPartUUID}

echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel ...'
linux ${alphaOSDir}/boot/vmlinuz from=${alphaOSDir} fsck
echo 'Loading alphaOS GNU/Linux kernel initrd ...'
initrd ${alphaOSDir}/boot/initrfs.img
}



Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

cron