alphaOS 15.0 - 15.4

Global announcements
simargl
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 May 2013, 10:54
Contact:

alphaOS 15.0 - 15.4

Postby simargl » 17 Apr 2014, 17:31

I'm starting upload of the new 15.4 iso:

Changes:
- Emendo has tabs support
- Wallpaper setter loads thumbnails asynchronously
- Taeni typing 'exit' closes active tab only, not the whole application
- Added dconf-editor to control center
- Patched SpaceFM to use standard GTK3 bookmarks file

------------------------------------------------------

Changelog for 15.3:
- Improved zoom function in image viewer
- Control center redesigned, now uses IconView instead of buttons
- Added options to Control center for changing tint2 and conky themes, as well as notification gravity
- 4 new tint2 themes
- Updated mpv to 0.4.1: it's still from Arch ARM repo, only newer date
- Connman UI patch for services widget height
- Qt5 applications will now use gtk style by default

------------------------------------------------------

Uploaded new iso with Grub2 and Installer made by Aspi, and added bootlogo for syslinux. Evince is updated to 3.13.3 (new version with headerbar). Voyager now has button to show/hide files list in tree view with animated transition using Gtk.Revealer.

------------------------------------------------------

I've uploaded the new iso 15.1 with not that many changes:

- Fixed problem with mpv process remains active after gmp-video is closed
- Applications menu now uses GtkPopover
- Improved tabs in Taeni: make them reordable, and hidden when only one tab is opened
- Zoom and Speed menu options in GMP Video
- New conky theme
- Gtk theme is now based on Numix, with just colors changed

Download from:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/alphaos/files/

------------------------------------------------------

alphaOS 15.0 is built from Arch packages on this date: 2014/04/16. Uses kernel 3.14.1, mesa 10.1, xorg-server 1.15.1. Iso includes Gtk3 programs exclusively, and does not contain any browser. Mplayer2 is removed in favor of mpv as its successor. Connman-ui is the default network manager.

Following packages are recompiled to enable Gtk3 support:
- obconf (git version),
- lxappearance (patched to improve logo in about dialog and work with Gtk3 themes by default),
- lxinput,
- lxrandr,
- lxtask (patched to improve logo in about dialog and add headerbar),
- gtkdialog (svn version).

New scripts included:
- Dialog for (de)activating bundles with one click /usr/bin/bundle-gui, written in YAD.
- Script /usr/bin/web-browser for launching installed browser. Launcher in tint2 panel use this script which goes through list of browser to start one that is installed.

Changes:
- Use Gtk.Application class in all apps except Emendo, with Gnome like App Menu, and single window mode - for example when you have video playing in GMP Video, then click on new video file in File manager it will open new file in that same window.
- Voyager and playtv: replaced Gtk.Grid with Gtk.Paned,
- Playtv, gmp-video, simple-radio: switch backend to mpv,
- Gmp-video: keyevents Page_Up, Page_Down for fast forward/backward,
- Fixed toram bootcode with large save file (thanks to Scooby).
- Simple radio: control volume level with scroll wheel,
- Emendo: Ctrl+Wheel change font size,
- Taeni: added tabs support...

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby Scooby » 17 Apr 2014, 18:34

*EDIT*
Tried the same as below and this time I got a popup saying connection failed
and when I hit the retry button it got ip adress :D

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tried new version

having trouble establishing wireless network.

Code: Select all

connmanctl services


shows availible services correctly but when I do

Code: Select all

connmanctl connect <service_number>


It says connected but I got no connection(no ip). I fiddled with wpa_supplicant, dhcpcd and connmand
but couldnt get a connection.

help?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BTW The problem smil99 described below Is still present
Maybe his fix could be added?
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1035#p2377

smil99 wrote:Connman's automatic connection seems a breeze. Only problem is the popup window of available wifi points is too small, making reading quite difficult. I read some where that before compiling,

Code: Select all

A very dirty hack to solve the problem is adding this line:

gtk_widget_set_size_request(cui_left_menu, -1, 150);

before

115 gtk_menu_popup(cui_left_menu, NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL, 1, 0);

line 115, file src/left-menu.c


Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby Scooby » 17 Apr 2014, 21:07

What are the keyboard shortcuts for switching between tabs (ctrl+tab didnt wotk in taeni)

What keyboard shortcut for new tab?

I can recommend alternativ GUI frontend for connman called CMST
it seems a little more worked but it uses qt so a makesb produces
a 27MB bundle

thedeli
Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Jan 2014, 16:17

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby thedeli » 17 Apr 2014, 23:12

Still not working for me :(

smil99
Proficient
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 Sep 2013, 13:37

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby smil99 » 18 Apr 2014, 07:36

Hooray! Version15.0 ends the alphaos drought :) . Thanks sim.
Writing from it now.
Connman connected after doing the following:
1. Selected wifi "On" by right-clicking the network icon while disabling "wired".
2. A list of available networks appeared but were difficult to read since the "drop-up" window was very small. Moving tint2 panel to the top seems to rectify the problem as the "drop-down" window now works as expected.
3. Selected my wifi network and I was prompted for my password. After that, voila, connection is established.

I think the procedure for wired connections must be similar.

@scooby:
Without fidgeting with the setup, try "logout" after supplying your credentials and let's see what happens.
Cheers to everyone.

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby Scooby » 18 Apr 2014, 20:19

From my understanding wpa_supllicant should start automatically
when connmanctl tries to query it through dbus interface

for me this doen't happen

if you have problem with internet connection and connman check if wpa_supplicant is running

Code: Select all

> pgrep wpa_supplicant


and if not start it with

Code: Select all

wpa_supplicant -u &


PS I don't recommend CMST anymore but find connman_dmenu very useful

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby john3voltas » 19 Apr 2014, 10:24

Hi Scooby.
I'm having the exact same problem as you.
In fact, this seems a lot like the issue that I had with Pwireless2 and Frisbee. On Frisbee I had to press a button that said something like 'restart wpa' or something like that.
So you see, the difference is that now I have to do it in the bash.
This has been a big pain in the ass since the beginning of alphaOS and I can't believe we still haven't sorted it out... :roll:

Do you see a way of doing all this automatically on each bootup?
Cheers

PS: sim, I love connman and connman-ui and I think alphaos looks much better without a web browser embedded.

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby Scooby » 19 Apr 2014, 19:57

john3voltas wrote:Do you see a way of doing all this automatically on each bootup?


For wifi I have made a bash script see here

I am not sure what you need/want. you could either alter the script above or we could work together to get something
working for you

if your only after wpa_supplicant start then you could use command line below
Place it in .start

Code: Select all

if ! pgrep "wpa_supplicant" > /dev/null; then wpa_supplicant -B -u; fi

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby Scooby » 19 Apr 2014, 20:15

For users not used to pacman I uploaded a firefox bundle.
Download: firefox_libevent_hunspell.sb

Download and put it in your modules/ directory and reboot

or

activate it by doing in the same directory as you downloaded firefox_libevent_hunspell.sb

Code: Select all

bundle -a firefox_libevent_hunspell.sb

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: alphaOS 15.0

Postby john3voltas » 19 Apr 2014, 22:54

Excellent posts Scooby.
That's indeed what I was looking for, wpa_supplicant.
Will add that line to .start and let you know how it goes.
Cheers


Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests