Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UEFI

Post screenshots, logos, themes, wallpapers and other artwork here, as well as video presentations and reviews
ndrancs
Competent
Posts: 29
Joined: 26 May 2013, 22:24
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby ndrancs » 21 Mar 2014, 01:51

john3voltas wrote:Still haven't found time to test it but cab we use makesb with alphat64?

you can use: makesfs tool, similar to makesb
don't forget to rename the *.sb file to *.sfs then move it to /aufs/devbase/ or /aufs/devbase/alphat64/
Last edited by ndrancs on 05 Apr 2014, 04:27, edited 1 time in total.
===signature begin===
alphat64 the remaster of alphaOS v14.5 with init from fatdog64 v630
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1045
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92727
===signature end===

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby Scooby » 21 Mar 2014, 18:30

Do you have to boot from iso then?
it cannot be done in frugal installation?

Does it require fatdogs boot up scripts? if not could you elaborate, as a side note, why you prefer
them to original alphaos( to satisfy my curiosity)

How many MB's would it add to iso?

ndrancs wrote:Do you want to implement UEFI features to the original alphaos?


To add it to original alphaos is for sim to decide. Sim likes it small so probably not.

As I am looking to buy another comp and a lot of them are UEFI I am interested in working
with alphaos in this environment. So if I buy one I probably drum up a version that works for me
and of course share with community.

Do you understand how UEFI works?
Do you have to have a windows( Win8?) installation for it to work?

*ammendment*
seems like it works to boot fatdog frugal on flashdrive as stated here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... a7d5c54a57

then perhaps a UEFI package could be provided on the side for alphaos?

It is stated in the above thread that boot process takes three times as long!

and here it is stated that UEFI dual hybrid adds 10MB to the size of the iso which isnt that bad
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84722

ndrancs
Competent
Posts: 29
Joined: 26 May 2013, 22:24
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby ndrancs » 21 Mar 2014, 23:45

Scooby wrote:Do you have to boot from iso then?
it cannot be done in frugal installation?

Does it require fatdogs boot up scripts? if not could you elaborate, as a side note, why you prefer
them to original alphaos( to satisfy my curiosity)

How many MB's would it add to iso?


no it can boot in frugal installation in uefi machine: ie in flashdrive,
- copy all contain of iso to a fat32 formatted flashdrive
- if you make a folder for SFS, initrd and vmlinuz file then edit gruf.cfg to matching your path, ie /alphat64/*
- test boot it in uefi machine
- the required file/folder to boot from uefi is : EFI folder, grub.cfg and optionally shellx64.efi in root of flashdrive

and i think it doesnt require fatdog64 boot up scripts, just to boot in uefi, but kernel must be recompiled to support uefi. and optionally sign it with key if you enable boot secure.

i think maybe you want to add uefi to original alphaos,
like i said before, to boot in uefi it require just EFI folder, grub.cfg and optionally shellx64.efi, but if you recompiled the kernel with config efi stub enable then grub2.efi and grub.cfg is not needed.

for me it just add 17.4mb to main iso.
===signature begin===
alphat64 the remaster of alphaOS v14.5 with init from fatdog64 v630
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1045
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92727
===signature end===

ndrancs
Competent
Posts: 29
Joined: 26 May 2013, 22:24
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby ndrancs » 22 Mar 2014, 00:23

Scooby wrote:To add it to original alphaos is for sim to decide. Sim likes it small so probably not.

As I am looking to buy another comp and a lot of them are UEFI I am interested in working
with alphaos in this environment. So if I buy one I probably drum up a version that works for me
and of course share with community.

Do you understand how UEFI works?
Do you have to have a windows( Win8?) installation for it to work?

*ammendment*
seems like it works to boot fatdog frugal on flashdrive as stated here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... a7d5c54a57

then perhaps a UEFI package could be provided on the side for alphaos?

It is stated in the above thread that boot process takes three times as long!

and here it is stated that UEFI dual hybrid adds 10MB to the size of the iso which isnt that bad
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84722


with bios firmware we can only get 4 primary partition and mbr style partition table,
but in uefi we past that limit and with GPT style partition table like in macOs and many more feature.

yes please test this os with secure boot enable/disable in that uefi machine.

i have read many pages that discuss about uefi and i known how uefi work
no you dont have to have win8 to make it boot from uefi, just make a ESP http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EFI_System_partition and put the files i mention before.

if you mean a uefi package for original alphaos? i think i can make it. btw for now you can add alphaos boot line to grub.cfg

i have test frugal installation with uefi and its true the boot process add about 5-10second compared to bios firmware.
===signature begin===
alphat64 the remaster of alphaOS v14.5 with init from fatdog64 v630
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1045
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92727
===signature end===

Rusty
Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2014, 05:24

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby Rusty » 22 Mar 2014, 05:49

I've got it running in a frugal install from hard disk. Asus P8H77-I mainboard, i3570K CPU, 8 GB of DDR3 RAM. It has an add-in ATi r7 260X video card. Needed to append "radeon.modeset=0 blacklist=radeon" to my grub kernel line to start it, otherwise it hangs at the disabling radeon message.

Coming from the Puppy Linux world, I have never used pacman. Nor spacefm.

Immediate needs:
--switch default filemanager over to rox (so far, I have added rox using pacman).
--get the Puppy Event Manager (or, better, gray's ybar system from his BoxPup derivatives) drive icons going along the left side.
--add wbar along the bottom.
--get rid of tint2 and instead use lxpanel, along the top.
--add xonclock, or, better, pwidgets-xonclock and calendar.
--add infinality-ultimate fonting and a decent selection of fonts.
--add gkrellm.
--add the latest Catalyst beta driver.

Then it should be fit to use. It certainly is fast. CPU Blowfish=2.46 seconds, CPU Fibonacci=1.55 seconds.

How do I make it load the kernel src and dev .sfs's? I don't see Puppy's bootmanager.

-Rusty

ndrancs
Competent
Posts: 29
Joined: 26 May 2013, 22:24
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby ndrancs » 22 Mar 2014, 07:11

Rusty wrote:I've got it running in a frugal install from hard disk. Asus P8H77-I mainboard, i3570K CPU, 8 GB of DDR3 RAM. It has an add-in ATi r7 260X video card. Needed to append "radeon.modeset=0 blacklist=radeon" to my grub kernel line to start it, otherwise it hangs at the disabling radeon message.

glad to see it running in your machine :)
yes it hang on newer ati video card but its not with some older ati video card, i have test it.
at booting process are you see message : Activating radeon workaround... thats mean fix for radeon card but it from fatdog64-630 and i think it doesnt work in alphat64, sure dont know why its doesnt work. :?: the current solution is to append the line you mention above. and install ati driver from source.

Coming from the Puppy Linux world, I have never used pacman. Nor spacefm.

Immediate needs:
--switch default filemanager over to rox (so far, I have added rox using pacman).
--get the Puppy Event Manager (or, better, gray's ybar system from his BoxPup derivatives) drive icons going along the left side.
--add wbar along the bottom.
--get rid of tint2 and instead use lxpanel, along the top.
--add xonclock, or, better, pwidgets-xonclock and calendar.
--add infinality-ultimate fonting and a decent selection of fonts.
--add gkrellm.
--add the latest Catalyst beta driver.
Then it should be fit to use. It certainly is fast. CPU Blowfish=2.46 seconds, CPU Fibonacci=1.55 seconds.

i will try to make it clear, IE for wbar and you want to remove tint2, please see /root/.start in this script you can add or remove startup app.
and /root/.xinitrc to change the default WM, window manager.
ok i will try to compile the app that not in pacman repo.

How do I make it load the kernel src and dev .sfs's? I don't see Puppy's bootmanager.

same method like in fatdog64-630 way.
in iso image please check this file /how_to_load_sfs.txt
here the content of that text file:

Code: Select all

1. in openbox: windows logo + S = open System SFS Loader
2. using command line :
# load_sfs.sh /path/to/sfs


thanks for a good reply :)
===signature begin===
alphat64 the remaster of alphaOS v14.5 with init from fatdog64 v630
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1045
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92727
===signature end===

john3voltas
Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: 19 May 2013, 21:53

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby john3voltas » 22 Mar 2014, 18:08

Rusty wrote:Coming from the Puppy Linux world, I have never used pacman. Nor spacefm.

Immediate needs:
--switch default filemanager over to rox (so far, I have added rox using pacman).
--get the Puppy Event Manager (or, better, gray's ybar system from his BoxPup derivatives) drive icons going along the left side.
--add wbar along the bottom.
--get rid of tint2 and instead use lxpanel, along the top.
--add xonclock, or, better, pwidgets-xonclock and calendar.
--add infinality-ultimate fonting and a decent selection of fonts.
--add gkrellm.
--add the latest Catalyst beta driver.

Welcome Rusty.
If you have never used pacman or spacefm I'd say you've been missing out a lot.
spacefm is certainly not THE best file manager in the world but it is certainly a way better file manager than rox. With rox you don't even have a way to drag'n'drop to a another folder without having to open another rox instance. I'd stick to spacefm if I were you.
Then if you disable tint2 you take all the beauty in alphaos.
But that's opensource, the freedom to do whatever you like with it.
You should also try makesb. It's like using pacman but it will automatically grab the package and create a module that you can load at boot time. No need to fill your save-file with packages ;)

Rusty
Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2014, 05:24

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby Rusty » 22 Mar 2014, 23:13

Thanks much for the replies.

I find rox to be perfectly acceptable, and very efficient...*after* I tell it to display using small icons with thumbnails, sorted vertically. For find-files-containing-text I use either Double Commander or else Total Commander under wine.

Below is a screencap of my upup-3.9.9.2 screen. Ergonomically, I find this arrangement very efficient.

1. Lxpanel at the top. I agree that tint2 looks prettier than lxpanel, but lxpanel provides tabbed (grouped) taskbar windows, tint2 does not. If tint2 ever gains grouped taskbar windows then I will switch to tint2.

2. Drives are listed (and accessible) on the left. Here, I am using Puppy Event Manager to show the drives, but I would prefer the drives-showing "ybar" arrangement used by Grey in some variants of his BoxPup series.

3. wbar across the bottom, started using

sleep 2 &&
wbar -above-desk -jumpf 1.0 -pos bottom -offset 10 -zoomf 1.8 -idist 6 -isize 32 -bpress -balfa 0 -falfa 100 &
sleep 1 &&

with 48x48 icons.

4. gkrellm at the right, Invisible theme.

5. Rox's pinboard provides the standard Puppy Linux icons at upper left, just to the right of the drives. However, I rarely use these anymore, because almost everything I use is accessible via wbar.

Window manager is Openbox, Openbox theme is Mavos, GTK theme is Stardust. Transparency is provided by the combination of compton and devilspie.

(I am posting these screencaps at full size so you can appreciate just how good infinality-ultimate fonting is.)
(sorry if there is a softcore-porn ad on it; does anyone know of a free filehosting service without the sexploitation of women?)

Screencap of upup-3.9.9.2:
http://www.datafilehost.com/d/87ef64d0

On upup-3.9.9.2 I have not yet succeeded in adequately tuning infinality-ultimate fonting; here is a screencap of infinality-ultimate fonting on upup-3.9.9.1, on which I compiled i-u from scratch:
http://www.datafilehost.com/d/634606da

(on upup-3.9.9.1 the Openbox theme is Gelb, and I have eliminated the Puppy icons from the desktop plus added PWidgets clock and calendar).

Thanks for the tip on makesb, I'm sure that will come in handy.

Oh, btw, the speeds reported above are with my i3570K running at only 1600MHz, so at full speed it will no doubt be much swifter.

Now to see what I can do to tame this speedy beast...

-Rusty

Rusty
Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2014, 05:24

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby Rusty » 24 Mar 2014, 18:52

Thanks for updating it with an xdelta so that it includes compton, infinality-ultimate, and wbar. I succeeded with the command (from upup-3.9.9.2)

xdelta3 decode 2ndTO3rd.xdelta out.iso

and then I renamed out.iso to AlphaT64_14.5--ver3.iso, mounted it (in upup-3.9.9.2, as with all recent Puppies, this requires just one click in rox) and copied-over the new

boot.cat
alphat64_14.5.sfs
alphat64_14.5.sfs.sha1
firefox-esr.sfs
firefox-esr.sfs.sha1
initrd

The updated frugal install boots OK, but the fonting is not as crisp as I am accustomed to with infinality-ultimate.

I will be away for about two weeks but will investigate it as soon as I can.

-Rusty

Scooby
Site Admin
Posts: 826
Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 16:52

Re: Screenshot of alphat64 using base from alphaOS 14.5 _ UE

Postby Scooby » 29 Mar 2014, 13:20

ndrancs wrote:if you mean a uefi package for original alphaos? i think i can make it.


Are you still willing to make this?


Return to “Artwork, Presentations and Reviews”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron